Iloilo City to activate 4 new police stations

4 police stations

Iloilo City will have four additional police stations that will be officially activated on July 2.

These are strategically located in Barangay Tanza Esperanza in City Proper district (Police Station 7), Barangay Bo. Obrero in Lapuz district (Police Station 8), Barangay M.H. Del Pilar in Jaro district (Police Station 9), and Gaisano Iloilo City Center in Barangay San Rafael, Mandurriao (Police Station 10).

For Mayor Jerry P. Treñas, this is a very welcome development for Iloilo City as this means a more orderly and peaceful Ilonggo community.
This, he added, is the result of the shared commitment of the Iloilo City Government and the Iloilo City Police Office (ICPO) in making Iloilo a safer and more livable place for everyone.

“With the rapid growth of our population and our economy, we should also take cognizance of the increased demands on public services, including law enforcement and emergency response, that’s why we have established ICARE Centers and additional police stations,” said Treñas.

ICARE stands for Iloilo City Action and Response Centers. Its frontline offices including the police caters to a certain area of responsibility and brings emergency response and services closer and more accessible to people in the community.

The ICPO, as a Type B City Police Office, is authorized to have 10 police stations based on National Police Commission (NAPOLCOM) Resolution Number 2019- 1032, entitled “Approving the Restructuring and Strengthening of 20 City Police Offices.”

New Iloilo City Police Stations

Police Station 7 is particularly located at ICARE Center in Barangay Tanza, Esperanza, City Proper.

It will cover 24 barangays in City Proper which are the current area of responsibility of Iloilo City Police Station 1, with a population of 26,835, and a land area of 1.33047 square kilometer.

Meantime, Lapuz District will have its own police station following the establishment of Police Station 8, which is housed at the old barangay hall of Barangay Bo. Obrero, Lapuz.

It will serve 12 barangays of the district with a population of 30,384 and a land area of 3.2435 sq. km.

This will allow Police Station 2 to focus exclusively on overseeing the entire La Paz district area.

Meanwhile, the 29 barangays of Jaro District which is currently under the area of responsibility of Iloilo City Police Station 3, will be placed under Police Station 9. Located at USWAG Youth Center in Barangay M.H Del Pilar, Jaro, the new station will serve 60,519 Jaro residents and a land area of 11.8071 sq. km.

Lastly, Police Station 10 will be temporarily situated at Gaisano ICC in Barangay San Rafael, Mandurriao and will serve seven barangays of Mandurriao district, with a population of 25,917 and a land area of 5.1262 sq. km, which at present is under the area of responsibility of Iloilo City Police Station 5. This will be permanently relocated to ICARE Center Megaworld in Barangay Airport, Mandurriao, once construction of the facility is completed.

For ICPO director Police Colonel Joeresty Coronica, having new police stations is a dream coming true and he is very thankful to the support of the whole PNP organization and the city government. (Iloilo City PIO)

Leave a Reply